To gym or not to gym…

So I spent most of my weekend deliberating over whether or not I need to join a gym to train properly for my triathlon.  The only thing that I can compare shopping for a gym to is hunting for an apartment.  I was running around the city all weekend trying out the equipment, talking to the manager, taking meticulous notes and of course giving them each points for location, location, location.

I’m of course in love with Equinox.  It has a bunch of gyms all over the city in convenient locations to work, my apartment, and then just cool places if I feel like checking out a new part of the city.  It was was awarded best gym in the US by Fitness magazine.  They have a pool and are rumored to have the best classes in the city.  There’s only one catch, the fees are unbelievably high.  I almost convinced myself that it was worth the money, while I was reaching for the towels they keep refrigerated at the ready for when you finish a hard workout.  Or when I was pouring myself a glass of water from the jugs with sliced lemons & limes, while relaxing in the SPA lounge.  But then I came to my senses and realized that I would be working out at least 3 times a week with my team and then running/biking outside on my own.  That isn’t going to stop me from going tomorrow morning to workout and have breakfast while they tempt me some more with their lovely amenities…

Then I checked out Boom Fitness, which only has two locations in the city.  Luckily one is near my office and the other is near my apartment.  It is significantly less expensive than Equinox, but lacks any and all frills, including a pool. 

Lastly I went to Asphalt Green, which has the best pool in the city for training.  It is an olympic size swimming pool used by swim teams and professional athletes to train.  They actually have their own triathlon club. 

I still haven’t come to a conclusion, but I’m leaning toward joining the Asphalt Green Triathlon Club and waiting on joining a gym.  So for now it is still TBD…  Hopefully I will be strong enough to resist the temptation of Equinox tomorrow morning…

Leave a Reply

